Napoleon House

nap_house_logo

-cf948e0905c2cc24

On a recent visit to New Orleans I eventually made it outside in the sweltering heat to explore the French Quarter. It was on this journey where I stumbled upon Napoleon House. It barely caught my attention as it seemed run down and non-descript.

But I stepped inside  after looking at the menu and to get out of the heat. What I discovered was this completely fascinating location, Napoleon House. I made my way up to the bar to have lunch.

After receiving the menu I discovered this place was designated as a Historic Building by the United States Department of the Interior. And it was amazing.

From the menu:

Menu Orleans Menu Image

menuorleans.com

Walls that had paint chipping, antique works of art covered the walls, and classical music played throughout. I felt as though I stepped into another time period; where internet, cell phones, and distractions of the day had no place here.

The bartender made some suggestions and I ordered the Bruscetta, thinking it was be light and fresh. It was not, instead it was this amazing tomato and cheese soaked bread. It was so large I could only eat half. Paired with a nice glass of wine, it was awesome.

So obessessed was I with this place, I made sure to return one more time before I left new Orleans. This night the waiter could tell I was amped up about the place, and even gave me a menu to take with me, and told me they had T-Shirts for sale, so I bought one.

For dinner I had one of their signature items, a Muffuletta.

989f71327441bba5_MuffulettaFront

From the website:

The Muffuletta

Muffuletta is the quintessential New Orleans sandwich and a Napoleon House signature that pays homage to the Italian immigrants who first opened grocery and deli stores along the riverfront of the French Market in New Orleans. It is a hearty sandwich of cured meats and cheese, slathered with a tangy olive salad dressing piled onto a sesame-crusted Italian loaf.  The muffuletta is heated to intensify the flavors of the ingredients.

It was completely memorable and I could return again and again. It felt familiar, like somewhere you’d meet your friends, and to relax.

http://www.napoleonhouse.com/

 

One thought on “Napoleon House

  1. Tom, u make this place sound amazing! I do want to go back to New Orleans in the future and will be sure to look this place up. Thanks for the tip!

Leave a Reply

