Amy

Amy_Movie_Poster[1]

Amy, the new documentary about Amy Winehouse is one of the best films of the year so far. Certainly, one of the best documentaries. This troubling, moving, comprehensive, empathetic work brings so many topics to light. What is does so well is present Amy Winehouse as a human being who is talented beyond her years and fighting demons of addiction while becoming world-famous. It’s compelling and heartbreaking at the same time. You see her talents as a young performing mature into a pop culture phenom. All the while you know where this is headed, and yet, you still hope the ending turns out differently.

It is impossible to walk out of this film and not view her differently. The surprise is how the struggles, successes, and life moments feel universal. You experience the lows and the highs in equal measure.

The care, effort, and approach with this film is evident. It will also help Amy Winehouse’s legacy endure.

young-amy-winehouse-ponders-fame-in-first-trailer-for-new-documentary[1]

Amy-Winehouse-Documentary-Trailer-Makes-Debut-FDRMX[1]

Amy-Winehouse[1]

REHAB

by Amy Winehouse

[Chorus]
They tried to make me go to rehab
I said, “no, no, no”
Yes, I been black
But when I come back, you’ll know, know, know
I ain’t got the time
And if my daddy thinks I’m fine
He’s tried to make me go to rehab
I won’t go, go, go

I’d rather be at home with a Ray
I ain’t got seventy days
‘Cause there’s nothing, there’s nothing you can teach me
That I can’t learn from Mr. Hathaway

I didn’t get a lot in class
But I know we don’t come in a shot glass

[Chorus]

The man said, “why do you think you here?”
I said, “I got no idea.”
I’m gonna, I’m gonna lose my baby
So I always keep a bottle near
He said, “I just think you’re depressed.”
This, me, yeah, baby, and the rest

They tried to make me go to rehab
But I said, “no, no, no”
Yes, I been black
But when I come back, you’ll know, know, know

I don’t ever want to drink again
I just, oh, I just need a friend
I’m not gonna spend ten weeks
Have everyone think I’m on the mend

And it’s not just my pride
It’s just till these tears have dried

[Chorus]

Songwriters
Winehouse, Amy

Published by
Lyrics © EMI Music Publishing

2 thoughts on “Amy

  1. Another great talent gone too soon to depression, drugs and alcohol ! Very sad film but extremely revealing and informative. Too bad she couldn’t be saved from herself and those taking advantage of her. RIIP!

Leave a Reply

