Tootsie

tootsie movie poster 1

Ok. Have you seen Tootsie? One of the best comedies of the last century. Think I’m kidding? Does it help to know that it was nominated for 10 Academy Awards? Some of the best lines in a comedy. It really is awesome. The film was released in 1982 and stars Dustin Hoffman and Jessica Lange. Hard to explain why it’s so good. But it works. If you haven’t seen it, check it out. If you have, watch it again.

Les, have you been drinking?

Tootsie_034PyxurzTootsie_024PyxurzTootsie_078PyxurzTootsie_073PyxurzTootsie_098PyxurzTootsie_089PyxurzTootsie_253Pyxurztootsie-1982-11-g

Some of the best quotes (from IMBD):

Michael Dorsey: Are you saying that nobody in New York will work with me?
George Fields: No, no, that’s too limited… nobody in Hollywood wants to work with you either. I can’t even set you up for a commercial. You played a *tomato* for 30 seconds – they went a half a day over schedule because you wouldn’t sit down.
Michael Dorsey: Of course. It was illogical.
George Fields: YOU WERE A TOMATO. A tomato doesn’t have logic. A tomato can’t move.
Michael Dorsey: That’s what I said. So if he can’t move, how’s he gonna sit down, George? I was a stand-up tomato: a juicy, sexy, beefsteak tomato. Nobody does vegetables like me. I did an evening of vegetables off-Broadway. I did the best tomato, the best cucumber… I did an endive salad that knocked the critics on their ass.

Ron Carlisle: I’m afraid you’re not right for this role. Thanks for coming by.
Dorothy Michaels: Why am I not right, Mister Carlisle?
Ron Carlisle: I’m trying to make a certain statement and I’m looking for a specific physical type.
Dorothy Michaels: Mr. Carlisle, I’m an actress. I’m a character actress. I can play it any way you want.
Ron Carlisle: I’m sure you’re a very good actress. It’s just that you’re not threatening enough.
Dorothy Michaels: Not threatening enough? Listen, you take your hands off me or I’ll knee your balls right through the roof of your mouth! Is that enough of a threat?
Ron Carlisle: [shaken] It’s a start.

Ron Carlisle: Take, Tootsie.
Dorothy Michaels: Ron? I have a name it’s Dorothy. It’s not Tootsie or Toots or Sweetie or Honey or Doll.
Ron Carlisle: Oh, Christ.
Dorothy Michaels: No, just Dorothy. Alan’s always Alan, Tom’s always Tom and John’s always John. I have a name too. It’s Dorothy, capital D-O-R-O-T-H-Y.

Sandy: A guy named les is sending you flowers?
Michael Dorsey: Yes. He’s a friend of mine. He can’t eat candy he’s diebetic.
Sandy: Why is he thanking you for a lovely night in front of the fire.
Michael Dorsey: [long pause] My minds a blank.
Sandy: Micheal, are you gay?
Michael Dorsey: In what sense?

[Dorothy Michaels’ screen test]
Rita: I’d like to make her look a little more attractive, how far can you pull back?
Cameraman: How do you feel about Cleveland?
Rita: Knock it off.

Leave a Reply

