The Island of the Blue Dolphins

The Island of the Blue Dolphins is based on the true story of Juana Maria, better known to history as “The Lone Woman of San Nicolas Island”, a Nicoleño Indian left alone for 18 years on San Nicolas Island, one of the Channel Islands off the California coast, before being discovered in 1853. The novel Island of the Blue Dolphins won the Newbery Medal in 1961. (Source: Wikipedia)

Michael had wanted me to read the novel for years. I finally did! As I was reading the book I thought of many things, including Katniss from The Hunger Games . Turns out so did the Washington Post: Washington Post Article. The story has compelling moments, is moving and delivers a satisfying ending. I wondered why a film had never been made. Turns out one was in 1964.

A tale of adventure, endurance, and animal appreciation.

4 thoughts on “The Island of the Blue Dolphins

  1. I remember that book from when I was a kid… I was supposed ti read it for school and just scanned it for my book report. Man I was a terrible student!!! Maybe I should read it now that I can appreciate it!

Leave a Reply

